Week 15 – Art Activity – Design Thinking

My future is never certain for me. All I have are ideal goals but my plans always end up changing. This assignment asks for 3 possible futures but the possibilities are endless. Instead, I will provide my own personal experience of me trying to find my possible fit in my current and future life.

 

I feel like I undergo different future alterations all the time. Going into college, I was determined to become a doctor. My focus was the medical field. I wanted to find the cure for cancer, being the optimistic freshman I once was.

 

During my first semester of college, I was struggling as a Molecular Biology major. I began to realize that if I was struggling this hard with general science classes, imagine how much of an obstacle upper level classes would be for something I want to do. I guess you could say, I wanted to seek an alternative route for my future by both enjoying what I’m studying and what I do.

 

Between the transition of finding a major that interests me during my second semester, I decided to pledge for a fraternity. My process took up the whole semester. From Week of Welcome to the end of finals week. I failed to pay attention in school because I was just so lost so I used this to take my mind off of my struggle and seek improvements in my attitude and gain different perspectives. I took this semester to find my comfort zone so I know where to push through.

 

At the beginning my third semester, I decided to change my major from Molecular Biology to Psychology. I figured, if I can’t help people physically, I can help them mentally. Healing doesn’t have to be generalized to only physical attributes, but psychological as well. I decided to start working as well. Having a job, settling into a new major, and being an active member in an organization took a toll on me but I persevered because this is something I wanted to do. It was time to step out of my comfort zone and take more chances at finding myself and what I like.

 

As I now begin to conclude my fourth semester, I decided to take up a position on executive board for my fraternity, take on a new job at a new up and coming restaurant, while striving through my academics. I feel like I’m going the right path because I’m happy and that’s all that matters. I learned that struggle is what makes a successful experience towards your future.

Leave a Reply

